The digital migration process in Kenya was initiated in 2009, three years after an ITU Member States Conference signed the GE06 Regional Agreement. The agreement set the time-line  of 17th June 2015 within which member nations ought to have switched from analogue to digital signals.

The Ministry of ICT and the Communications Authority were spearheading the process. Business exerted all efforts to influence this policy particularly after the announcement of the Analogue Switch Off (ASO) dates in three phases namely:

Phase 1:   31st December 2014: Switch of analogue TV transmitters in Nairobi and its environs.

Phase 2:  2nd February 2015: Switch off of analogue TV transmitters in Mombasa, Malindi, Nyeri, Meru, Kisumu, Webuye, Kakamega, Kisii, Nakuru, Eldoret, Nyahururu (Nyadundo), Machakos, Narok and Loldiani (Rongai)

Phase 3:  30th March 2015: Switch off of analogue TV transmitters in Garissa, Kitui, Lodwar, Lokichogio, Kapenguria, Kabarnet, Migori, Voi (Vuria), Mbwinzau/Kibwezi, Namanga and any other remaining sitesEngagement between CA and media houses and other stakeholders

Ahead of the international deadline of June 17th 2015.

The digital migration debate was one of the most contentious issues in Kenya in 2015. So contentious that the three main media houses Nation Media Group, Standard Group and Royal Media Services went off air for a few weeks in protest. The three also launched a legal battle which culminated in a Supreme Court decision in support of the digital migration process.